Cookies!

2 years ago I made 1200 cookies in one weekend before Christmas and put them in little bags to bring to work for my co-workers. About 36 hours into my baking marathon weekend, I was covered in flour and close to tears, but only 6 varieties of cookies into 10.

Last year I started my baking weekend with homemade marshmallows, which ended in disaster when I tried to pour the hot, sticky marshmallow into the pan to cool and it wouldn’t come out of the mixing bowl. I gave up on baking altogether and spent the rest of the weekend sitting on the couch, watching an entire season of Entourage and eating the marshmallow right out of the bowl.

This year I decided to simplify things and bake only a few different things and put together boxes for the people who help me out throughout the year.

I tried to find recipes that made either a lot of little pieces or a few bigger ones. I tried making fudge for the first time and it came out great.

I also attempted caramels, and they were not as good. I waited too long to take them off of the heat and they are way too hard (I think that it’s toffee now).

The Peppermint Patties from this recipe came out great, were super easy and I will definitely going to be making them again very soon. I printed out labels and tags and packed everything up in boxes and sent them off to friends.

2 thoughts on “Cookies!

Leave a Reply

