I had too much cream cheese, so I made 5 dozen cupcakes

Last week I looked in our refrigerator and saw that we had a pound of cream cheese. I’m not sure how it happened, but that is way too much. I decided to make some Red Velvet Cupcakes and use the cream cheese for frosting. About 3 hours and 60 cupcakes later, I was done.

The Red Velvet recipe was from a great cookbook that I got for Christmas – The SoNo Baking Company Cookbook. I still had some frosting left over after the first batch was done, so I decided to try another variety – Martha Stewart’s One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes. I’ll definitely be making both again – the chocolate recipe was especially simple.

Here’s my recipe for Cream Cheese frosting, just in case you have too much too:

– Two 8 ounce block cream cheese, cold
– One stick of butter, room temperature
– Two tablespoons vanilla extract
– One 2 pound bag of confectioners’ sugar

Mix the cream cheese, butter and vanilla extract in the bowl of a stand mixer until well blended and fluffy. Add the sugar one cup at at time until each is well incorporated.

This frosting is THICK, so it’s better to spread with a knife than trying to squeeze it through a pastry bag. The recipe makes more than enough to frost 60 cupcakes, so it can be cut in half if you don’t need as much. Luckily I don’t like sweets very much, so most of the cupcakes made it into my office the next day.

Leave a Reply

