Etch-a-Jar

I used etching cream for the first time yesterday and made this cute coffee jar for Anthony.

The jar cost $4 at Michael’s and the etching cream (Armour Etch) was also pretty inexpensive and I have a ton left. I was shocked at how quick and easy the whole thing was. The biggest hassle was cutting out the stencil from a sheet of sticky vinyl (like contact paper) and lining up the sticker on the glass.

Once the stencil sticker was in place, I just had to brush on the etching cream and wait a minute, then rinse with cold water. I didn’t think it did enough the first time, so I put on another coat of cream and left it on for 2 minutes. It was easy to rinse off and I was really happy with the results. Next time I need to do a better job of making the layer of cream even, because it definitely makes a difference in the results.

I ordered a Silhouette SD, which is being delivered tomorrow (!) and it will make the stencil making step easier. I am searching our house for more things to etch.

Leave a Reply

