Chocolate Pink Princess Cake – Part 1

My niece is turning 3 and she asked for a chocolate pink princess cake. I am not completely sure what that looks like, so I’m winging it. I decided to make a two-tiered cake, since that seems more special. I also bought some pink edible glitter to decorate it with.

I started with Martha Stewart’s One-Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe, which I love because it makes a huge batch, is super-easy to clean up, and is only slightly more cumbersome than a boxed mix but much more delicious.

I want everything to come out perfect, so I was extra careful about buttering the pans, lining them with parchment, buttering the parchment then dusting with cocoa. Usually I am too lazy to go to the trouble, but it is totally worth the extra step.

While the cakes baked I made some white chocolate mousse for the filling. I used a regular chocolate mousse recipe, so I am not sure if it turned out right. I’m letting it chill overnight, and if it tastes good I will use it between the layers.

The cakes came out perfect and they’re sitting on our kitchen table waiting for the next step – frosting!

Leave a Reply

