Floorplanner

We’re ready to move into the apartment, but the movers didn’t have a date until 9/6, so I have a lot of time to get everything ready and make sure I know where everything should go.

I used Floorplanner to create a floor plan and see how the furniture we have will fit into the space. Some of the rooms are a lot bigger than our old house, and some of the rooms are smaller. Here is the layout:

Once I had the measurements for the space, it was easy to draw the rooms. Floorplanner has standard-size furniture icons that I dropped into the layout and positioned where I wanted everything. As soon as I got all the furniture in place, I realized that there are a few things that we need to address:

1. The loooooooooong hallway without windows. We had it painted white on top and light gray on the bottom, since it could get pretty dark. I have several framed drawings from Exploding Dog, which I can space out down the wall. I still think I am going to need more art to keep things interesting and bright. I love these photo ledges from Ana White, but the hall may be too long to make it work.

2. Storage in the dining room. Our old dining area was tiny, so we only have a small table and 6 chairs, plus a 2 x 8 Expedit shelf from IKEA. I am going to start looking for some kind of cabinet like this one from Decor8, but I doubt I’ll be able to find one in my price change (which is about $0).

3. My office/craft room’s secret identity as a guest room. We need to keep our old futon in the office for when we have guests sleeping over. It’s not the nicest looking piece of furniture, but it is a necessity that I have to live with.

The first (and biggest) challenge that I am going to tackle is probably crazy. I am going to paint the really ugly laminate kitchen cabinets. I did a bunch of googling, and apparently it’s possible. I’m headed to Home Depot tomorrow to pick up the supplies, then I’m going to get to work. Fun!

Leave a Reply

