Chicago

Anthony and I visited his mother in Chicago this weekend and it was lots of fun. We were only in town for about 24 hours on Thursday into Friday, then again for about 12 hours on Sunday, but I think we covered a ton of ground and had a great time.

As soon as we landed, I had to get some business out of the way. We went to Al’s No. 1 Italian Beef for lunch, and it was really good. Then we made a stop at the original Paper Source, where I stocked up on colorful envelopes, pretty notebooks and some gifts for the kids.

Once that was done, we walked down Michigan Avenue and looked at the shops. All Saints had these awesome old sewing machines in the window, and all the fixtures inside of the store were made from vintage factory equipment.

My favorite part of the trip was the Art Institute of Chicago – I could have spent an entire week inside. My mother-in-law suggested that we go there to see the Thorne Miniature Rooms, since she knows I love dollhouses. They were AMAZING. My pictures are from my iPhone, and you can see my reflection in the glass.There are 68 rooms total, in a range of styles from the 13th century to 1930. All of the rooms are handmade at 1/12 scale and the work was absolutely unbelievable. Pictures of most of the rooms are online here, and they are much better than mine.

We had a little bit of time to look around upstairs, and I made Anthony pose for a Ferris Bueller picture, even though he has never seen the movie.

The next day we were off to Seattle to visit Anthony’s Grandmother, but our brief time in Chicago was tons of fun and I can’t wait to get back for a longer visit.

One thought on “Chicago

Leave a Reply

